“It’s so difficult to describe depression to someone who’s never been there, because it’s not sadness.”                                                                                       – J.K Rowling

 

I know I haven’t posted in SO long and I’m very sorry but there has been so much going on. I’m back because I missed blogging. And I’m here to stay. Just not promising the frequency of posts per week.

Anyway…..

My school was asking for articles on social issues for a magazine and I submitted a poem that I wrote and I also designed the entire magazine!! The poem is about mental health and the stigma associated with it. I wanted to share it here and hopefully it will help someone. This is the third poem that I have ever written so go easy on me!

If you’re triggered by this kind of stuff please don’t continue.

× × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × ×

EYES SHUT TO THE OBVIOUS

She sits alone in the dark

But the sun is out glistening

She drifts through days like a shadow

Striving for reason

Thinking of ways

 

“Cheer up”, someone says

You don’t pay attention

You don’t even look

If you listened

You’d know her pain

 

Words stuck to her like a price tag

Inconsiderate, fake, vulgar,

Moody, shameless, paranoid,

Pessimist, two-faced, weak.

Labels echo in her head

 

Confused and scared

Treads aimlessly

Someone loves her

But she doesn’t know

For her life is spiraling out of her control

 

This life hasn’t been fair

She’s fighting a battle

That she’ll never win

Nothing to gain

All she wants is for you to end the pain

 

She’s losing sight

Of what she’s already seen

She’s losing grip

Of the harsh realities

This is the end, her downfall.

 

You may not understand it

But she was unfortunate enough

The path of ignorance you grip

Now pay the price

Of the coffin you built.

× × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × × ×

A friend of mine was diagnosed with bi-polar mood disorder and GAD a few years ago and she still struggles with it sometimes. This poem was inspired by her.

If you’re going through a bad time right now, I promise you it will all be okay soon.

If you know someone who is going through a rough time help them out. Talk to them and tell them that you will be there for them.

Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ Δ

Follow, Like, Comment ♥

Love,

Another Unpredictable Girl

